Zephyr of Acrid


jayn April 2022

Look beneath
the shining kitchen benches
and you’ll find the filth
Obsession
a zephyr of acrid lurking
there between chips and crumbs missed
on plates and swipes
Once we grew a garden
filled with flowers
and our laughter
brightened drab
Blinded, I gladly hung your tattered sheets
against the falling fence
and suburban dis-harmonies
lost their disappointing stab
I cartwheeled into your heart
Love amazed us
throbbed
You played with me
played to me, played me
and we bled us both dry
turning back
to hacks and old history
to quell turmoil
self inflicted
a shabby stain I quietly pulled the cloth over
so dinner seemed blissful
Where were we
reference: I am the whore
reference: I am the marriage breaker
reference: I am the fuck of the century
reference: I am the emotional vampire
reference: I am the person you love
You couldnt name it
but I knew every word I had to say
sat numb on a straight backed chair
the ritual blood spreading around my feet
silent
See it there in the black sky
the reasons why
burning candles flicker
blown out by that acrid stink again
The breath of dead was the last gasp
when I said nothing at the bin
No last words
ashes
it doesn’t matter how much you sweep and clean
the chemicals dont hide
disrespect

Leave a comment